Friday, 8 May 2009

Arafura Update

Hi All,

Here's some Arafura Games Triathlon info:

For bike and run course maps see

Registration and Race Briefing:

Will take place at Lake Alexander on Saturday 9 May 09 as follows:
3pm Rego opens & Team Managers briefed
3.30pm Race Briefing (please make sure you are familiar with all aspects of the course)
4.30pm Registration closes

Race Day:

Transition open and bike check in from 5.30am

Alex Fong Lim Drive will be closed from 6.30am - competitors and spectators are advised to arrive early. Overflow parking will be abailable at Colivas Road.

Race Start is 7am

Cut Off Time for bike course: A cut off time will apply to the cycle leg of the course. Roads will re-open at 10am. All competitors will be required to complete the cycle leg before this time.

Further info: see Arafura Games website.


Tuesday, 5 May 2009

Race Belts for Arafura Games Triathlon

Hi All,

Race numbers will be issued for the Arafura Games Triathlon at registration on Saturday.

We have a number of race belts available courtesy of our uniform manufacturer, Scody.

Please email if you don't have a race belt and would like one put aside for you.


Monday, 4 May 2009

Results Race 1 ITU World Championship - Tongyeong

Race 1 produced a photo finish in the men's event with Aussie Brad Kahlefeldt the unlucky loser

Tongyeong Dextro Energy Triathlon - ITU World Championship
1.5km swim, 40km bike, 10km run
Elite Men - Official Results

Gold - Bevan Docherty (NZL) 1:50:25
Silver - Brad Kahlefeldt (AUS) 1:50:25
Bronze - Dmitry Polyansky (RUS) 1:50:30 +0:05
4th - Kris Gemmell (NZL) 1:50:40 +0:15
5th - Steffen Justus (GER) 1:50:43 +0:18
6th - Jarrod Shoemaker (USA) 1:50:47 +0:22
7th - Alexander Brukhankov (RUS) 1:50:47 +0:22
8th - Laurent Vidal (FRA) 2:04:25 1:50:47 +0:22
9th - Tim Don (GBR) 1:51:01 +0:36
10th - Courtney Atkinson (AUS) 1:51:06 +0:41

Elite Women - Official Results
Gold - Emma Snowsill (AUS) 2:02:42
Silver - Emma Moffatt (AUS) 2:02:52 +0:10
Bronze - Juri Ide (JPN) 2:03:30 +0:48
4th - Kathy Tremblay (CAN) 2:03:32 +0:50
5th - Kirsten Sweetland (CAN) 2:03:39 +0:57
6th - Kiyomi Niwata (JPN) 2:03:56 +1:14
7th - Magali Di Marco Messmer (SUI) 2:04:07 +1:25
8th - Samantha Warriner (NZL) 2:04:25 +1:43
9th - Vendula Frintova (CZE) 2:04:26 +1:44
10th - Lauren Groves (CAN) 2:04:27 +1:45